Gusto wins Melbourne to Launceston Ocean Race


Gusto has smashed the record of Australia's oldest ocean race, the Melbourne to Launceston 'Rudder Cup', with a wining time of 18:44:05 – taking more than an hour off the previous record.

Cadibarra 8 set the previous record in 2003 with a time of 19 hours 55 minutes and 43 seconds for the race.

Brian Pattinson and his crew crossed the line at 7:14:05am, becoming the first ever boat to win the Melbourne to Hobart Westcoaster, Melbourne to Hobart Eastcoaster and Melbourne to Launceston line honours trifecta - in consecutive years.

The crew reported winds gusting to 45 knots at times and a constant barrage of water coming over the deck.

Sailmaster of Gusto, Jeremy Walton, said the race was fast but wet.

Alan Saunder's Ninety Seven was the second boat to finish in the Melbourne to Launceston, crossing the line more than five hours after Gusto.